Painting Easter Eggs

About to Paint Eggs

We’ve been trying to add more yearly traditions to our life, as practice for life with a little one, and hopefully making memories our child will treasure for a long time. So this year we did not skip over Easter like we usually do. Yasu, being Japanese, doesn’t know much about Easter. Not that I am an Easter expert, to me Easter is about eating eggs (both chocolate and chicken), painting eggs, and hiding eggs around the house or garden for children in the family. Actually, I did once hide chocolate eggs around our place in the States for Yasu to find. I think he enjoyed the search, but since he doesn’t like chocolate much, there was no real prize for him. This year we tried our hand at painting some eggs.

A New Tradition Started

We kind of decided to this last-minute and I had a hard time finding the required tools. As kids we used to decorate boiled chicken eggs with special markers or a special egg-paniting apparatus and eat them afterwards. I couldn’t find any of these online, I’m not even sure what they are called. If we were to decorate eggs with toxic paint, we couldn’t eat them afterwards and we wanted to do a bit more than just color them with food colorings. So in the end I bought some egg ornaments and acrylic paint to satisfy our egg painting desires.

We Made a Mess

It wasn’t easy since the plastic ornaments did not absorb the paint well and we needed several layers of undiluted paint to try to cover its original design. I had wanted to do this with paper mache eggs, but according to Amazon those would not have arrived at our house before Easter, and it’s not like tiny Buxton has a craft store. Still we had fun, made a mess, and started a new tradition.

Painted EggsPainted Eggs

I was reminded that painting is hard. I much prefer a pencil or a computer to draw, it gives me more control. Paint and paint brushes… they seem to have a mind of their own. I tried making a patterned egg, quickly gave up and marked the year on the other side, and I wanted to try one of these cool emoji eggs, and ended up choosing the designs I thought would be the easiest. Yasu let the Japanese and Dutch flags inspire him and Yasmin decorated her eggs with tropical palm trees and hearts. As you can see we ended up with a colorful batch of egg ornaments to decorate next year’s Easter tree with.

12 thoughts on “Painting Easter Eggs

    • I don’t remember when my last time was as a kid… Since we eat ours, I don’t have them anymore. But if we keep painting eggs that we can’t eat, like this year, we should have a rather full Easter tree in a few years.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh really? You know, I know nothing about the religious aspects of most holidays… I’m embarrassed to ask: “How is the blood of Christ connected to Easter?”

        Like

      • I also don’t for the most part :P I was in a Catholic school so this is the only reason to why I can answer this. So, Christ died around Easter time and was on the cross. And he bled for the sins of all those to come. In general Christianity, red represents Christ dying for people’s sins. So, like in the Greek church, people have red wine to drink. During Easter, there are red eggs. So all in all, the red symbolizes Christ dying and forgiving all the sins of the world.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Well, thank you for the lesson! This way we learn something new every day. We celebrate so many holidays, and I really have no idea about the symbolisms and traditions, I just enjoy them :).

        Like

  1. Wow. Those are gorgeous and ambitious eggs. We just do the vinegar-based dye and make the hard-boiled eggs into curried egg salad sandwiches.

    My Chinese-American guy never did any holidays growing up. His first time decorating eggs, carving a pumpkin, or putting up a Christmas tree were all with me. I wouldn’t say he loves it, but he at least tolerates it. The only part the holidays he gets into is the traditional alcoholic beverages. You never saw an Asian dude whip up such amazing egg nog from scratch!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, well your dude has his priorities straight. Mine does not drink at all, so he’s interested in the other activities, he’s the one who keeps suggesting doing things like baking cookies for Christmas (which was new to me) and this was his idea as well. I should really take more responsibility teaching him more about Western and Dutch traditions.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

