Happy Thanksgiving

One of the great things about living in England is that I am allowed to work again! That may not sound like a big deal, but my spousal-foreign-student-visa in America made it illegal for me to work for three years, and let me tell you it’s not great. Yes, you end up with a lot of free time, but it feels like you’re trapped. Your life is on hold and you’re just waiting around for it to get started again.

Oh, the joy and the sense of freedom that came with the simple activity of looking at job adverts and applying to jobs, it’s inexplicable. After about a month I ended up with 3 job offers, and I picked my favorite. Last week I started my new full time, permanent job at a local bank and so far I’m loving it! I love my coworkers, the work, and just the feeling of being back in the working world. My life is no longer on hold.

So today on Thanksgiving Day, I am very thankful for our new life in England!

The only downside is that I suddenly have hardly any free time left to squeeze in all my other activities. Not just the domesticalities, but also social activities (both in real life and online) and most regrettably, creative activities.

As some of you have noticed, I am late announcing the Turkey Owl winner. Since today is Turkey Day in the United States, I’m quickly squeezing in the winner announcement today. I also regret to announce that the owl giveaways are on hiatus, at least until I have become accustomed to my new full-time work lifestyle.

I had all these wild plans regarding owl designs to celebrate the Sinterklaas, Christmas and New Year Holidays in upcoming weeks, but I just don’t have the time to work on them. Perhaps next year.

Congratulations, Vanessa!

Leave a Reply

