The Grand Plan

I am a perfectionist.
It’s a blessing, but mainly it’s a curse. It just takes so much time to do things perfectly, so I’m always behind and perpetually trying to catch up. This blog is the perfect example! No pun intended. Will I ever catch up? I mean, I still have to blog about my trip home from Japan in 2009, and all the other ones that came after that.
My husband thinks the easy answer is to just stop being a perfectionist, but I just can’t not try to do things perfectly. It’s an obsession that’s been with me since I can remember. As a teenager, I was constantly rewriting entire pages of homework, just because of one little mistake. Sure, I had Wite-Out, but I really hated the look of it as it was still obvious there was some mistake under it. So it needed to be redone, completely. It should come as no surprise that I was always behind on my homework.
Thank goodness for computers, word processors, and delete buttons! These have made my life so much easier, if it weren’t for these, I would never have finished my Master thesis.
I can’t give up my perfectionism, I’m addicted to it. Yet, there’s nothing perfect about my time management, and that can be painfully overwhelming.
With the help of my ever supportive hubbie I came up with the Grand Plan in the picture. This is supposed to help me feel more in control of my time. I really hope so.
2 thoughts on “The Grand Plan

  1. If I could only get myself to follow this plan. But I find I assign priorities to tasks and they override the plan… Well, I'll just keep trying, I can't expect to follow it perfectly from the start, right?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

